PDA

View Full Version : When is an extra slot not an extra slot?


bigsigh
05-19-2007, 03:52 AM
As a long standing EQ2 player, I have all my character slots full. While I rejoice in the fact that SOE is adding another slot in the upcoming GU35, I for one will not be making a new character. This is NOT because I don't want to, it is because it will take up the last slot I have, and thus NOT allow me to create a new  character in the upcoming Kunark expansion, since I assume that there will be no additional slots added in that, a la EoF. I suspect that I am not alone here. I just don't get the point of making expansions, yet NOT adding character slots. If I knew that another slot was to be added with Kunark, I would make a new character to play in Neriak. tra-la-la <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />   There is no WAY that I will effectively pay double my current subscription for Station Access, since ALL that I would be getting are the extra slots that it gives. I have zero interest in the other games that come with it and I won't pay for it on principal at the current price.  I would pay for additional slots though, although I think this is a little rich.

Cusashorn
05-19-2007, 03:57 AM
Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.

ke'la
05-19-2007, 04:13 AM
I accually have not heard of any non-SoE game adding Caractor Slots in a Real Expaintion(CoV and GW don't count they are full games that connect to the old ones) that addes Races or Classes. This is not to say there arn't any I have just not heard of any. Granted EQ2 did start out with way to few slots and is still lower then many, though not all games in the Number of slots available per server(I don't count slots across multple servers, as if you did you would also have to count the EU(english) and Test servers wich most don't). Most games now a days have either 6 or 8 slots per server available EQ2 will have 7 this is a happy medium between the two, and who knows, other then adding a New Race and the Lvl Cap increase we really know NOTHING of the Features in RoK it could very well be as part of the LU that accompanies RoK they will be adding one or two more slots to bring the total base count to 8, besides as any addtional slots will be part of an LU and NOT the expaintion so it wouldn't even enter into the early marketing for said expaintion because really do new players care how many total slots a game has(I doupt it) and as far as SoE is consterned the marketing for expaintions is more about getting New players then selling it to Current ones because they assume current ones will get it anyway, besides the content in RoK for current players is NOT the Sarnak(because after lvl 20 your going to be playing in the same areas you have been playing in sence launch or atleast sence EoF) it is the other 90% of the expaintion the 65-80 content.

Lakaah
05-19-2007, 11:48 AM
<cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote>Why should they? Possibly because a major feature of the expansion (new race) requires a new character slot in order to be utilized by many players. Being stingy and giving people a choice of two negatives (delete or miss out on something new+cool) is just going to make people bitter.

McDohl
05-19-2007, 11:52 AM
<cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote>Hehehehehe, it's not EQlive <img src="/smilies/2786c5c8e1a8be796fb2f726cca5a0fe.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> .

Josgar
05-19-2007, 01:03 PM
[email protected] Bayle wrote: <blockquote><cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote>Hehehehehe, it's not EQlive <img src="/smilies/2786c5c8e1a8be796fb2f726cca5a0fe.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> .</blockquote> Still Sony's game..

Themaginator
05-19-2007, 02:13 PM
<cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote> in EQLive you could have a lot more chracaters to 8 per server

Solaran_X
05-19-2007, 03:31 PM
<cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote>True...but in EQLive, you could have ten characters <b>PER SERVER</b>. Which means I could, theoretically (and if I had no life) have ten 75s on one server, ten 75s on another server, ten 75s on another server, etc., etc. In EQ2, we can only have 5 or 10 characters <b>PER ACCOUNT</b>, spread out over the servers.

ke'la
05-21-2007, 04:54 AM
[email protected] Bayle wrote: <blockquote><cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote>True...but in EQLive, you could have ten characters <b>PER SERVER</b>. Which means I could, theoretically (and if I had no life) have ten 75s on one server, ten 75s on another server, ten 75s on another server, etc., etc. In EQ2, we can only have 5 or 10 characters <b>PER ACCOUNT</b>, spread out over the servers. </blockquote><p>Accually its 6 or 10 PER SHARD and soon to be 7 or 12 PER SHARD, so (just sticking to english shards) thats 18-30 total currently and soon to be 21-36 total.</p><p>Also, as was said earlier this is an SoE game how about we look a MORE RESONT SoE game then EQlive. SWG, there you got 1 thats right ONE caractor per server 8 total unless you "unlocked" Jedi then you could make a new non-jedi, once the NGE came out and everyone could make a Jedi they just Unlocked that second Toon per server, however you STILL can only have 8 toons total. And they introduced 2 races in thier first expaintion and both had Traits that gave them a Sugnificant advatage in the content of the expaintion and they did not add more slots per server OR total, and again this was back when you could only have 1 caractor per server.</p><p>I also have not seen a single game that added caractor slots when adding races, in a True expaintion (CoV and Guild Wars don't count as they are Independant games that kinda link together). </p>

Iseabeil
05-21-2007, 08:45 AM
[email protected] Bayle wrote: <blockquote><cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote>True...but in EQLive, you could have ten characters <b>PER SERVER</b>. Which means I could, theoretically (and if I had no life) have ten 75s on one server, ten 75s on another server, ten 75s on another server, etc., etc. In EQ2, we can only have 5 or 10 characters <b>PER ACCOUNT</b>, spread out over the servers. </blockquote> Correction. In EQ2 you can have 18 (soon 21) or 30 (soon 33) per account. You cant count different servers on other games if you do not count them in this game. As there are 3 'regions' with their own full set of characters available, they must be included in any comparison that isnt 'per one server'. I can understand if americans dont want to play on german or french server with ingame language differences, but splitpaw and runnyeye are just as english-languaged as lets say najena for example. The extra download that takes place when switching region is done in seconds and is no excuse to not count them. Playing on mistmoore and splitpaw is no different then playing on two servers in EQ1. Test I could accept not being fully counted as you need to have it as its own full version, but it doesnt remove the fact that the slots there exists.

MysidiaDrakkenbane
05-21-2007, 10:31 AM
I'm keeping that slot open, too. But then again, I knew they were putting in the Arsai and I made a Fae placeholder for her. /shrug

MadTexan3
05-21-2007, 11:45 AM
My suspicion is that some beancounters at SOE found out just how many players have multiple accounts and by keeping the number of slots per account relatively limited they encourage multiple accounts or at least a subscription to Station Access.

Nolrog
05-21-2007, 01:56 PM
<cite>Cusashorn wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why should they add new character slots? They didn't add new character slots to EQlive every time a new race was introduced. Players had to delete a character and live with it. You will too.</blockquote><p> The big difference is that EQ 1 allowed 8 characters per server.  EQ2 allows 6 total (soon to be 7.)  </p>

Mirul
05-21-2007, 02:11 PM
<p><blockquote>Iseabeil wrote: Correction. In EQ2 you can have 18 (soon 21) or 30 (soon 33) per account. You cant count different servers on other games if you do not count them in this game. As there are 3 'regions' with their own full set of characters available, they must be included in any comparison that isnt 'per one server'. I can understand if americans dont want to play on german or french server with ingame language differences, but splitpaw and runnyeye are just as english-languaged as lets say najena for example. The extra download that takes place when switching region is done in seconds and is no excuse to not count them. Playing on mistmoore and splitpaw is no different then playing on two servers in EQ1. Test I could accept not being fully counted as you need to have it as its own full version, but it doesnt remove the fact that the slots there exists.</blockquote> </p><p>I currently have all 6 slots taken with various characters I have created.  My "Create Character" button is greyed out indicating I can not create a new character even if I wanted to put in on another server as server selection is the last step in the set-up process.  Am I missing something?  Please explain how I get 12 more characters.</p>

OakravenDesade
05-21-2007, 08:08 PM
[email protected] wrote: <blockquote><blockquote>Iseabeil wrote: Correction. In EQ2 you can have 18 (soon 21) or 30 (soon 33) per account. You cant count different servers on other games if you do not count them in this game. As there are 3 'regions' with their own full set of characters available, they must be included in any comparison that isnt 'per one server'. I can understand if americans dont want to play on german or french server with ingame language differences, but splitpaw and runnyeye are just as english-languaged as lets say najena for example. The extra download that takes place when switching region is done in seconds and is no excuse to not count them. Playing on mistmoore and splitpaw is no different then playing on two servers in EQ1. Test I could accept not being fully counted as you need to have it as its own full version, but it doesnt remove the fact that the slots there exists.</blockquote> <p>I currently have all 6 slots taken with various characters I have created.  My "Create Character" button is greyed out indicating I can not create a new character even if I wanted to put in on another server as server selection is the last step in the set-up process.  Am I missing something?  Please explain how I get 12 more characters.</p></blockquote><p> well its realy quite simple</p><p>if you use the US servers you can use the european servers to get 6 charaters, but thats only on thoes servers</p><p>if your in Europe, you can use the US Servers to get 6 more charaters but thats only on thoes servers</p><p>You can also add charaters on the Test server</p><p>total = 18 without the Station access</p>

Robaidh
05-22-2007, 01:11 AM
ke'la wrote: <blockquote>I accually have not heard of any non-SoE game adding Caractor Slots in a Real Expaintion(CoV and GW don't count they are full games that connect to the old ones) that addes Races or Classes. This is not to say there arn't any I have just not heard of any. Granted EQ2 did start out with way to few slots and is still lower then many, though not all games in the Number of slots available per server(I don't count slots across multple servers, as if you did you would also have to count the EU(english) and Test servers wich most don't). Most games now a days have either 6 or 8 slots per server available EQ2 will have 7 this is a happy medium between the two, and who knows, other then adding a New Race and the Lvl Cap increase we really know NOTHING of the Features in RoK it could very well be as part of the LU that accompanies RoK they will be adding one or two more slots to bring the total base count to 8, besides as any addtional slots will be part of an LU and NOT the expaintion so it wouldn't even enter into the early marketing for said expaintion because really do new players care how many total slots a game has(I doupt it) and as far as SoE is consterned the marketing for expaintions is more about getting New players then selling it to Current ones because they assume current ones will get it anyway, besides the content in RoK for current players is NOT the Sarnak(because after lvl 20 your going to be playing in the same areas you have been playing in sence launch or atleast sence EoF) it is the other 90% of the expaintion the 65-80 content.</blockquote> DAOC added character slots every time they made new races or classes so all could participate for at least the first few expansions they had, not sure about their most recent one. The game may be antiquated now but that team had tons of marvelous ideas SOE and WOW have totally failed to pick up on.

OakravenDesade
05-22-2007, 04:45 AM
For comparison you have Eve online. 3 charater slots, and if you try to "alt out" your either Gimping your main or your just puttering around in a ship that because of your total lack of skills is realy not that mutch better than a newbifrig. (EVE-Online skill system is you earn "Skills" reguardless of if you play or not at a somewhat fixed pace,(even when logged out, but when you finish a skill you have to be online to change to a new skill, and its only one charater at a time)

Cusashorn
05-22-2007, 04:41 PM
There, you happy now? You're getting your precious little extra character slot next week with the game update.

Pusska
05-24-2007, 08:05 AM
Cusa ... lay off the drugs and actually read the thread