PDA

View Full Version : how do i


Britefire
04-02-2007, 07:05 PM
how do i join test. do i lose any charecters? does it cost extra money? can i switch back? free jumjum for those who help <img src="/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Degron
04-02-2007, 07:43 PM
<p>1) Open your EQ2 folder on your computer.</p><p>2) Find the Test server EQ2 Icon. (Its a different color than the normal blue one.)</p><p>3) Launch the Test Server Patcher with this icon (and sit through a long patch, heheh).</p><p>4) Have fun on Test. ^_^</p>

Degron
04-02-2007, 07:45 PM
Oh yeah. Its free. The Test Server files are maintained spearately on your computer. You will be able to go back and forth between the normal and test servers with ease, just launch whichever icon you want.

ZUES
04-02-2007, 08:20 PM
Keep in mind that having test AND live on your computer will be the same as 2 EQ2's. Every patch and every update to ever be released will be installed into your puter. Just make sure you have enough free space is all I'm saying.

Kethaera
04-02-2007, 08:26 PM
<a href="http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/posts/list.m?topic_id=170" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">These</a> are the official FAQs about the Test Server. They should answer most of your questions. Plus, they're all official and everything! <img src="/smilies/e8a506dc4ad763aca51bec4ca7dc8560.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

goboy
04-03-2007, 12:17 PM
<cite>Degron wrote:</cite><blockquote><p>1) Open your EQ2 folder on your computer.</p><p>2) Find the Test server EQ2 Icon. (Its a different color than the normal blue one.)</p><p>3) Launch the Test Server Patcher with this icon (and sit through a long patch, heheh).</p><p>4) Have fun on Test. ^_^</p></blockquote><p> Before doing step 3, copy your live files into your test folder (copy not move).  This way the patch process will be faster.  From Kethaera's FAQ link:</p><hr />2. Highlight all the files and folders in the EverQuest II root directory EXCEPT the following: the cache folder, the logincache folder, the TestServer folder, and the eq2_default.ini file. (You can use Control-A to highlight all the files and folders, then hold down the Control key and left-click on those folders and files to de-select them.) Right-click and drag the selected folders to the TestServer folder. Select the option to COPY the files and folders, NOT move them.