PDA

View Full Version : Server Down????


Kaishod
02-21-2007, 12:27 PM
<p>I am getting a world Butcherblock not found message when I select toon from auto start.</p><p>When I go to select character, it says on all my toons that Offline Server is down.  I have looked in all of the forums and cannot find anything about servers being down so felling like its just me.  </p><p> What gives?</p>

Zha
02-21-2007, 12:30 PM
From <a href="http://eq2players.station.sony.com/network_status.vm" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://eq2players.station.sony.com/...twork_status.vm</a> <b><b>Scheduled Downtime</b></b> - 2/20/2007 7:00pm PST <p>All US Live servers will be coming down at 7:00 am PST on Wednesday, February 21st, 2007 for a restart. Downtime is expected to be 30 minutes or less.</p> <p>- The SOE Operations Team</p>

Nodok
02-21-2007, 12:30 PM
It's happening to me too for Everfrost so it's not just you <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Leafbringer
02-21-2007, 12:49 PM
After 3 years you'd think SOE could find a way to tell new players that they bring the servers down at 7am PST pretty much every week day.  Like a big bold announcement on the main web page, or an announcement at your login screen, or something on the box.  That period of time is prime-time gaming time for me, just before work and school, and I guess I just wish I'd known the server was always down at that time.  It's possible I would have gone with a different game. Ahhh... now I know why SOE doesn't announce stuff like that  =)   Answered my own question, I guess.

Maroger
02-21-2007, 12:56 PM
<cite>Leafbringer wrote:</cite><blockquote>After 3 years you'd think SOE could find a way to tell new players that they bring the servers down at 7am PST pretty much every week day.  Like a big bold announcement on the main web page, or an announcement at your login screen, or something on the box.  That period of time is prime-time gaming time for me, just before work and school, and I guess I just wish I'd known the server was always down at that time.  It's possible I would have gone with a different game. Ahhh... now I know why SOE doesn't announce stuff like that  =)   Answered my own question, I guess. </blockquote><p>Well it is not really everymorning. But what is more discouraging is their inability to estimate the length of the downtime. They never seem to know how long what they are doing will really take. Sometimes they say 1 hour and are down for 2, today they said 30 minutes or less and now it is close to 1 hour.</p><p>I have never understood why the techincal department is so lacking in the ability to give correct estimates of time down, and when they miss why we are never given an update on when they expect to be up. Normal business have to do this is if they wish to continue to have customers, SOE seems to feel that they are not under any obligation to behave like a business although they expect us to pay them on time.  </p>

Leafbringer
02-21-2007, 12:59 PM
The other occasional frustration comes from a Server Status page that doesn't update automatically along with the server.  I wish I had a silver piece for every time the status page said the server was down when it was actually up and vice-versa.  Oh well.  It's an imperfect system, but whatever.  Until it changes though, you will have, very nearly every day, a post from a new player saying, "What the heck...? " and that's just sorta too bad. 

Tomanak
02-21-2007, 01:01 PM
<cite>Leafbringer wrote:</cite><blockquote>That period of time is prime-time gaming time for me, just before work and school</blockquote> You actually have time to play before work first thing in the morning? Im so busy making sure my daughter gets dressed, her lunch is ready, her breakfast is eaten, and the myriad other things I do I barely have time to breathe let alone sit down and play..lucky bugger <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Rainkng
02-21-2007, 01:04 PM
<cite>Zhaal wrote:</cite><blockquote>From <a href="http://eq2players.station.sony.com/network_status.vm" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://eq2players.station.sony.com/...twork_status.vm</a> <b><b>Scheduled Downtime</b></b> - 2/20/2007 7:00pm PST <p>All US Live servers will be coming down at 7:00 am PST on Wednesday, February 21st, 2007 for a restart. Downtime is expected to be <b>30 minutes or less.</b></p> <p>- The SOE Operations Team</p> </blockquote>"30 minutes or less" my throbbing red baboon butt.  It's been over an hour now. For me, this is the frustrating part - when they actually announce an approximate down time and exceed it. Like many of you I have a busy life outside of the game and when I purposefully schedule play time around server resets, patches, etc based on what SOE publishes it's gets a little bothersome when I have to alter my plans to suit they're inability to deliver on what they promise. Oh, well.  Nature of the beast, I guess. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Leafbringer
02-21-2007, 01:05 PM
Of the 193,342 reasons I do not want children - I believe the ability to play MMORPG's unimpeded until I am old and grey is somewhere in the top ... oh ... 20,000 at least.  lol

Maroger
02-21-2007, 01:22 PM
<cite>Leafbringer wrote:</cite><blockquote>The other occasional frustration comes from a Server Status page that doesn't update automatically along with the server.  I wish I had a silver piece for every time the status page said the server was down when it was actually up and vice-versa.  Oh well.  It's an imperfect system, but whatever.  Until it changes though, you will have, very nearly every day, a post from a new player saying, "What the heck...? " and that's just sorta too bad.  </blockquote><p>Someone posted a message a while back asking why the servers were down in the middle of the afternnon. He has checked the server status page. I replied and told him the servers were up but alas SOE had an inability to have their server status page reflect the <b>REAL</b> status of the servers. Often it was best to just logon and try -- since I have seen time all servers were listed as up when they were really down.</p><p>I wonder why it is so difficult for SOE to have the server status actually be <span style="font-size: small"><b><i>correct!!</i></b></span> </p>

Leafbringer
02-21-2007, 01:29 PM
In my very first days of playing EQ, the server status page indicated that the server was down.  I spent pretty much the entire day checking in to see if it would ever come back up.  Finally I sat down and punched out a post asking the EQ2 community what was up.  I got responses like "what do you mean, the server has been up all day!" That made me so mad.  I considered writing a long, drawn out letter or email to SOE asking for my money back for that one day!  lol  I know - kinda petty.  But if they had a system that worked, that would never have happened.  Hate to mention the "W" word but that game (it ends with"ow&quot<img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> has a game that is hardwire-connected to the server status page.  If the servers are down, by golly the server status page says "down".  If it's up, you can be sure the page says "up".  The switch happens automatically.  I am suggesting SOE implement something similar with this game, or at least add to the checklist of things for the team to do, at the very bottom, "update status page".

Anaba
02-21-2007, 01:36 PM
<p>Well, yes, it is a shame that the notices about the length of downtime are rarely correct, and that the scheduled downtime is sometimes NOT scheduled, but EQ or EQ2, they never have gotten this right and they never will.  If they would just post somewhere accurately when the server is actually down, it would be a tremendous help, but considering the track record of the other items this is about as likely as cometary impact.  The new ones will just have to discover this the same way we did, countless instances of frustration <chuckle></p><p>Anaba</p>

Zenith
02-21-2007, 01:36 PM
Um it's been an hour and a half, 3x the expected downtime amount... AB is currently down. I mean yeah no shock AB is always the last up first down but c'mon...

deaddog4201
02-21-2007, 01:40 PM
Since restarting a server is nothing more then you do with your pc, takes maybe 15 minutes at the most, there 30 minute or less time frame is generous. I can only assume during the restart semething didnt come up and they are working on fixing it im sure. Could of been anything! Hardware! Ive had it happen restart my router and poof its blown. Oh shoot its gonna take sometime to fix it. I remember playing other online games where there server would go down unexpected on a friday night and you would be lucky to be playing again on monday afternoon. Sometimes would be weeks or months before you would see any updates at all. They do have a long way to go but they do better then alot of games ive played.

Novusod
02-21-2007, 01:40 PM
The servers still seem to be down. Come on I hate delays. I want to play. It is getting close to noon here on the East coast.

Norrsken
02-21-2007, 01:50 PM
<cite>deaddog4201 wrote:</cite><blockquote>Since restarting a server is nothing more then you do with your pc, takes maybe 15 minutes at the most, there 30 minute or less time frame is generous. I can only assume during the restart semething didnt come up and they are working on fixing it im sure. Could of been anything! Hardware! Ive had it happen restart my router and poof its blown. Oh shoot its gonna take sometime to fix it. I remember playing other online games where there server would go down unexpected on a friday night and you would be lucky to be playing again on monday afternoon. Sometimes would be weeks or months before you would see any updates at all. They do have a long way to go but they do better then alot of games ive played. </blockquote>OMG. You never had to power cycle a server did you?

TheMightyTaco
02-21-2007, 01:51 PM
<p>The network status page and the update notes page really annoy me to. I've played other games because the pages showed servers down in the past.</p><p>But if I had to veture a guess as to why this happens it's that Up/Down status isn't as simple as you'd think. We know from what SOE has said in the past (and from magazine articles) that a "server" that you play on isn't a single server. Instances are dynamically loaded and unloaded from any number of a bank of machines. I would guess that they'd dedicate a full set of machines to a single "virtual server" so my server Befallen may actually exist on a series of 6, 12, maybe even 24 machines. Heck, it may be to the point where multiple virtual servers can share machines. So a single piece of hardware could have instances from Befallen, Unrest, and Guk for example. That might be too much of a nightmare to deal with, but it is possible.</p><p>So, what is their network status page going to do then? If each virtual server was just on a single hardware server then you could simply ping the machine or monitor the game server process to see if it's running. But since the virtual servers run across multiple machines you need to check them all. Some may be up, some may be down, some may be up but not hosting any instances from your virtual server but from others.</p><p>Now, if they've taken a whole bank of servers offline for upgrades or testing then every virtual server has a portion of it that is down, but it runs perfectly fine because there are a whole mess of servers still running. At what point do you say the server is "down"? I would suspect that an automated "down" means that one of the machines is offline. (Of course, it's just speculation from what I can see.)</p><p>I doubt there is a central, main "server" that you can point to and say "that one is Befallen". So you can't just pick that one as the master. You'd have to say "those 10 machines are Befallen and 9 of them are up right now, the other is getting new network cards put in". So to automate the process you'd have a network storm of monitoring software checking every server in the bank asking if any Befallen zones are running on them. And perhaps that's not something they want to do.</p><p>Anyway, that's my half-educated guess. I could be entirely off, but it makes sense to me. And even if I am technically wrong, at least the jist is "it's a far more complicated issue than you think it is". And yeah, I still think they should find a solution and make it work. Someone on the inside just has to make it a priority and another person has to decide the rules on how it will be implemented. Well, that and actually changing the code to work that way. In fact, if I had to guess again I'd wager that it actually did work but the way servers are configured changed over time so now we see bogus server status that would technically be correct if the configuration hadn't changed.</p>

deaddog4201
02-21-2007, 01:55 PM
Was just curious if they did say it anyplace and i found it pretty quick in the service agreement. the first part in big bold letters. But bah who reads those things anyway. 7. NEITHER SOE, ANY COMPANY AFFILIATED WITH SOE, NOR ANY OF THEIR RESPECTIVE DIRECTORS, OFFICERS, EMPLOYEES OR AGENTS, MAKE ANY WARRANTY WHATSOEVER, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THAT THE SERVICE WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED, SECURE, VIRUS FREE OR ERROR FREE. WE ARE NOT LIABLE FOR ANY DELAY OR FAILURE TO PERFORM RESULTING FROM ANY CAUSES BEYOND OUR REASONABLE CONTROL. FURTHER, WE CANNOT AND DO NOT PROMISE OR ENSURE THAT YOU WILL BE ABLE TO ACCESS YOUR SERVICE ACCOUNT OR THE SERVICE WHENEVER YOU WANT, AND THERE MAY BE EXTENDED PERIODS OF TIME WHEN YOU CANNOT ACCESS THE GAME, YOUR SERVICE ACCOUNT OR THE SERVICE.

Leafbringer
02-21-2007, 02:05 PM
Can you imagine if the industry decided that down time = money ?  Like that players got a refund or credit for every minute the game was not up and running during a month?  Start at $15.95 per month, calculate how much a minute is worth, and just credit that amount back to the player for every minute the servers were down during the month.  I would guess that might not amount to much, per player, but on the grand scale, it would be a chunk of change for SOE.  But it might keep them on the ball. I guarantee the servers would never, ever be down.  lol Somewhat off topic but I just had that thought.  To make it more interesting, here's the math: There are about 40,320 minutes in a month.   If the sever is down about an hour every week day (give or take, sometimes it's a half-hour, sometimes it's an hour and a half, two hours, etc. - we'll just say an hour is average) ... that's 60min x about 22 days [they don't often go down on weekends] so about 1,320 minutes offline.   That's about 4% downtime.  4% of $15.95 is like .64 cents.  We all get a big fat .64 cent credit!  WOohoooO.  Not much but stretch that out over years of playing, and you get a little retribution for server-downtime. lol I'm bored, can you tell (gotta go to work soon anyway) I'm sure the math is 100% wrong I'm just spewing ideas out anyway... As for the whole multiple server thing - do you guys remember in old EQ, they used to have a separate server status message for each and every server?  In fact, not only did it say (correctly) to the minute whether the server was up or down, it told you how many people were online?  heh  Yep.  It rocked. They removed that because that kind of information became proprietary to SOE - they didn't want anyone (especially the competition) knowing how many players they actually had at any given time.  But for the players, it was a system that worked flawlessly.

Maroger
02-21-2007, 07:53 PM
<p>There used to be a 3rd party program you could run for EQ1 that would tell if the servers were up and if any zones were down. It was a real fountain of information.</p><p>So obviously it is within SOE' technical capabilities to get that information to the server status page and have it be correct. The problem is more that they don't care or they don't want to be bothered or both. </p>