PDA

View Full Version : Orbital Screenshots


ChildofHate
02-21-2007, 04:14 AM
<p>i brought this up in a different thread.  rather then continue to derail that thread's initial purpose, i decided to make a thread actually for the subject.</p><p>For those who don't know about this nifty little feature, you can take a 360 degree screenshot.  Depending on your perspective at the time, you will either capture everything around your character (first person) or capture every angle of your character (third person).  It's a fun gimic that SOE introduced back in the early days of EQ2... even prior to the release of DoF actually.</p><p>The command is /cl_screenshot_orbit  (thanks dogbrush, can't understand how i got it bassakwards)</p><p>I would recommend making it a hotkey.</p><p>I have one example here:  <b><span style="color: #33cc66"><a href="http://www.rtcsd.com/360/SFP.mov" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">Overlooking SFP</a> </span></b>(97 mb) -- Right click and "Save target as" </p><p>I kept it larger scale to retain as much quality as possible.  I made it as a .mov file that way you would be able to use the timeline marker to scroll left to right and see everything.  I didn't record it at a slower pace.  If you choose to watch it real time and loop it, you will inevitably get sick.  lol.</p><p>If you are wondering, yes every setting was set to max for the screen shot.  I used a video editting program to stitch the scenes together but i know some people have made them as animated gifs.  only problem with that is you cannot stop the spin and move it around on your own.  I haven't tried making a flash version yet.</p><p>I had a second example to post but it doesn't seem to have uploaded.  i will try to post it in the morning.</p><p>Enjoy!</p><p><b><span style="color: #6699ff"> *EDIT*  I changed the file this morning to something a little smaller MB-wise.  Different scene as well.</span></b></p><p><span style="color: #6699ff"><b>*EDIT 2* fixed the command.  My lysdexia had kicked in.</b>  <span style="font-size: xx-small">(yes i wrote that wrong on purpose)</span></span></p>

DngrMou
02-21-2007, 10:58 AM
Cool...I'm dl'ing now.  Question, (or assumption, acctually)...the mode in which the orbital screencap is executed, (1st, or 3rd person), is determined by what mode you view the world when you enter the command, yes?

ChildofHate
02-21-2007, 11:37 AM
yep!

Haruk
02-21-2007, 01:36 PM
Here's the .gif I made that I posted in the other thread: <a href="http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u270/Haruk312/yayme.gif" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/...uk312/yayme.gif</a> Think I might try out it with flash later on!

Krilinye
02-21-2007, 03:03 PM
How exactly does it work? It wont let me execute the command ingame (Unknown command) - am i missing sumthing? <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

ChildofHate
02-21-2007, 03:19 PM
<cite>Krilinye wrote:</cite><blockquote>How exactly does it work? It wont let me execute the command ingame (Unknown command) - am i missing sumthing? <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></blockquote><p>hmm, not sure why it's not working.  the command is /cl_orbital_screenshot  ---  maybe try to copy the command here, make a macro button and hit Control-V to paste it on the macro line.</p><p>What it does it take 36 separate screen shots at 10 degree incremants (making a total of 360 degrees).  If your in first person, it shoots as if you took 36 pictures while spinning in a complete circle.  If you are in third person, it shoots as if the camera circled all around you while taking the shots.</p>

TheStateFish
02-21-2007, 03:42 PM
Copied and pasted the command, it doesn't exist in game.

dogbru
02-21-2007, 04:27 PM
The command is /cl_screenshot_orbit - this does work for me <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Krilinye
02-21-2007, 04:43 PM
That worked, ty <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />