PDA

View Full Version : Veteran's Display Case???


Winter
02-20-2007, 05:57 PM
<span style="font-size: medium; color: #ffccff; font-family: comic sans ms,sand">Hey there... The Veteran's Display Case (one of the 3rd year veteran rewards) will not let me place it in my house. It will, however, let me 'use' it to which of course it says "Whatchoo talkin' bout, Willis?" Anybody else having this problem?</span>

Fayline Fyrecat
02-20-2007, 06:17 PM
<p>I have the display case, but haven't tried to put it in my house yet.  I assume it's a salesmans crate, have you emptied a slot in your broker window to accomodate it?  I think you may have to empty one of the box slots you have on the broker before you can put a sales crate in your room, but I'm no expert on the subject.</p>

Ji
02-20-2007, 06:29 PM
<p>It goes in your bank slots. It gives a 10% commision instead of 20%. This allows you to sell items more expensive than the cheapest guy but you can sell it at the cheapest price.</p><p>HUH??? <img src="/smilies/ed515dbff23a0ee3241dcc0a601c9ed6.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>

Zakarth
02-20-2007, 06:35 PM
Yes, it's a sales crate.  So you need to put it in your broker window, then while in your house you can use a market board to right click on it and place it in your home.

Choombatta
02-20-2007, 06:37 PM
<p>Place it into a free spot on your broker screen.</p><p>While still on the broker screen, right click the display case and chose "Place in House".</p>

Marcula
02-20-2007, 06:38 PM
<p><span style="color: #00ccff">I have 4/60 slot sales crates in my broker sales slots and the crates are sitting on the floor in my house for anyone to come buy from and not pay and commision prices at all. I think this reward is best served for the people who don't have even a $5 silver appartment and sell off the broker boxes exclusively. (I can't believe how many people sell this way lol) Unless there is something I am missing it will collect dust in the bank.</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">Wanderingwilly - Proud member of "Tree"</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">                         - Paladin of the 64th order of merit</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">                         - Level 70 Master Armorer</span></p>

Sotaudi
02-20-2007, 08:31 PM
<cite>Marcula wrote:</cite><blockquote><p><span style="color: #00ccff">I have 4/60 slot sales crates in my broker sales slots and the crates are sitting on the floor in my house for anyone to come buy from and not pay and commision prices at all. I think this reward is best served for the people who don't have even a $5 silver appartment and sell off the broker boxes exclusively. (I can't believe how many people sell this way lol) Unless there is something I am missing it will collect dust in the bank.</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">Wanderingwilly - Proud member of "Tree"</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">                         - Paladin of the 64th order of merit</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">                         - Level 70 Master Armorer</span></p></blockquote><p>You are right, the cheapest way to buy something is to go by your house.  However, there are a lot of times when it just is not worth zoning two or three times to get to someone's house, let alone risk someone else buying the only item of that kind listed while you were zoning in order to save a few bucks.  Thus, while you are right it is cheaper for people to come to your house, not everyone will do this.  Thus, you still gain an advantage if you have a the vet award crate in your broker slots making it 10% cheaper than those who do not have this crate.</p><p>The better consideration for you is whether or not it would be a concern for you to give up 20 sales slots (the difference between the 60 slot crates you have and the 40 slots of the vet award crate).  If you routinely have more than 20 unused slots, you would still gain by using the vet crate.  If not, you would have to determine what benefits you the most. </p>

CapnMac
02-21-2007, 02:03 PM
<p>Anyone have a screenshot of it?</p><p>I'm curious what it looks like because that might sway whether or not I want one in my house. I rarely fill all my salesman's crates, so I'm not concerned about losing storage space.</p>

dogbru
02-21-2007, 04:14 PM
From left to right, (Crafted) Cedar Furniture Shelf Veteran 3yr reward 40 slot display case (Crafted) Cedar Salesman's Crate <img src="http://www.dogbrush.co.uk/images/EQ2_000530.jpg" border="0">

CapnMac
02-22-2007, 11:06 AM
Hmmm, not nearly as neat looking as I was hoping. Looks more like a closet than a display case. I was really hoping for some sort of tilted glass case like you see at jewelry shops. Oh well. I still may use it for the 10% reduction. At least it's prettier than the salesman's crates.

Jaggid
02-22-2007, 03:50 PM
<cite>Marcula wrote:</cite><blockquote><p><span style="color: #00ccff">I have 4/60 slot sales crates in my broker sales slots and the crates are sitting on the floor in my house for anyone to come buy from and not pay and commision prices at all. I think this reward is best served for the people who don't have even a $5 silver appartment and sell off the broker boxes exclusively. (I can't believe how many people sell this way lol) Unless there is something I am missing it will collect dust in the bank.</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">Wanderingwilly - Proud member of "Tree"</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">                         - Paladin of the 64th order of merit</span></p><p><span style="color: #ccff00">                         - Level 70 Master Armorer</span></p></blockquote>Because it is like going to 7/11, much more convenient when you want a 6 pack of beer and don't want to take the time to go to the super market.

Nastharl
02-22-2007, 05:23 PM
Also because when people search for things it doesn't reflect that they can go to your house on the shown price. It will let you price your goods higher than the person currently selling for lowest and still appear as the cheapest.

Windowlicker
02-23-2007, 10:20 AM
Maybe I'm crazy but I took a look last night and the stuff I had in it was still selling for 20%.

Te'ana
02-23-2007, 03:30 PM
How are they calculating the 3 years? I have been playing since the beginning of retail and don't have this item to claim. And I have all the expansion packs and adventure packs.

Amitee
02-23-2007, 03:50 PM
I tried to buy out of someone's vet case last night at their house and was unable to open the case to buy the item.   I know they did a patch this morning, but since I bought the item from someone else because of this issue, I wasn't able to test it this morning.   Next time I hit the broker I will check for someone with a vet case to test this out.  Anyone else having an issue with this? (I'm a penny pincher, I always visit people's houses - plus I love to look at people's houses too!)

mellowknees72
02-23-2007, 03:57 PM
[email protected] Bazaar wrote: <blockquote><p>Anyone have a screenshot of it?</p><p>I'm curious what it looks like because that might sway whether or not I want one in my house. I rarely fill all my salesman's crates, so I'm not concerned about losing storage space.</p></blockquote> I don't have a screenshot of it, but I'm using mine in my house to sell.  It looks sort of like a large wooden armoire, with two doors on the top and a drawer on the bottom (if memory serves).  It has sort of rounded sides that are bowed out a little bit, so it has a very distinct and different look.  I think it's pretty cool, but then again I'm one of those cheap players who hasn't moved out of The Baubbleshire yet.  And probably never will...LOL.

d1anaw
02-26-2007, 02:41 PM
Te'ana wrote: <blockquote>How are they calculating the 3 years? I have been playing since the beginning of retail and don't have this item to claim. And I have all the expansion packs and adventure packs.</blockquote>I was wondering the same thing. I started the same day as my SO and he got it and I didn't.

Wingrider01
02-26-2007, 02:55 PM
Te'ana wrote: <blockquote>How are they calculating the 3 years? I have been playing since the beginning of retail and don't have this item to claim. And I have all the expansion packs and adventure packs.</blockquote> It is calculated by paid subscription time minus the 30 day free trial. For example if you canceled the account and came back 5 months later, that unpaid time is not counted

Landlubber
02-26-2007, 03:29 PM
<cite>Wingrider01 wrote:</cite><blockquote>Te'ana wrote: <blockquote>How are they calculating the 3 years? I have been playing since the beginning of retail and don't have this item to claim. And I have all the expansion packs and adventure packs.</blockquote> It is calculated by paid subscription time minus the 30 day free trial. For example if you canceled the account and came back 5 months later, that unpaid time is not counted</blockquote>Umm... no. 1) I started playing EQ2 when it launched in November 2004. I left a few months later (February 2005) and only came back on last New Year's day. So all in all I have about 6 months paid subscription time, and yet I can claim the veteran's display case (I just checked). Whenever I was subscribed to EQ2 I was on Station Access however, maybe the calculation is different there. 2) even ignoring 1), I don't see how there can even BE 3 year veteran rewards already, given that the game came out in November of 2004. I know that sometime in early January my account age jumped from 800something days (which should have been about correct if you count ALL days since I joined) to over 1000 - that was when they had trouble in calculating the correct account age. As of now it's at 1106 days, when EQ2 only has been around for approx. 900 days or so. Anyone know what's up with that? Can Station Access have anything to do with it?

Giland
02-26-2007, 03:33 PM
Each expansion gives bonus time. I forget the actual value, wanna say 90 days ?

Landlubber
02-26-2007, 03:35 PM
[email protected] wrote: <blockquote>Each expansion gives bonus time. I forget the actual value, wanna say 90 days ? </blockquote>That would explain it. Because a week or two after I resubbed, I got the all-in-one pack with all the expansions... <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Illmarr
02-26-2007, 04:24 PM
If you have Station Pass you are subscribed from the day you added EQ2 to it regardless of if you play the game or not. I went back to EQ1 when LU13/DoF released and didn't come back till just after KoS released but still have credit for all that time on my account. And yes, each expansion registered adds 90 days to your total.

Binford
02-26-2007, 04:43 PM
The Uberness of the Veterans crate is not limited to a mere 10% but 1/2 the broker fee.  This means buying from someone of the same city who has this crate you will pay 10% at the broker but if the player is of another city the fee would be 20%.  That is the True Uberness.

Landlubber
02-26-2007, 06:23 PM
[email protected] DLere wrote: <blockquote><b>If you have Station Pass you are subscribed from the day you added EQ2 to it regardless of if you play the game or not.</b> I went back to EQ1 when LU13/DoF released and didn't come back till just after KoS released but still have credit for all that time on my account. And yes, each expansion registered adds 90 days to your total.</blockquote>Yes, that's understood. What I meant in my case (I didn't express myself too clearly there) was that I'd cancelled my Station Access in the meantime. My account history with SOE looks something like this: Jul 03 - Nov 04: SWG single sub Nov 04 - Mar 05: Station Access Mar 05 - Dec 06: SWG single sub Dec 06 - now: Station Access And I still have access to all EQ2 veteran rewards, including the 3 year ones.

Laomie
02-26-2007, 06:24 PM
looks craptastic doesnt it? they couldnt spend a few hours coming up with a different look for people that have paid them faithfully for 3 years could they, oooh nooo, that would be too much.

Ruben
02-26-2007, 06:54 PM
<cite>Landlubber wrote:</cite><blockquote>[email protected] DLere wrote: <blockquote><b>If you have Station Pass you are subscribed from the day you added EQ2 to it regardless of if you play the game or not.</b> I went back to EQ1 when LU13/DoF released and didn't come back till just after KoS released but still have credit for all that time on my account. And yes, each expansion registered adds 90 days to your total.</blockquote>Yes, that's understood. What I meant in my case (I didn't express myself too clearly there) was that I'd cancelled my Station Access in the meantime. My account history with SOE looks something like this: Jul 03 - Nov 04: SWG single sub Nov 04 - Mar 05: Station Access Mar 05 - Dec 06: SWG single sub Dec 06 - now: Station Access And I still have access to all EQ2 veteran rewards, including the 3 year ones. </blockquote><p>Not sure where it was stated, but i remember them saying its purely based on account age (not actual paid time) so if you bought it and played 1 month then came back in two years you would have 2 years and 1 month account age.</p><p>the biggest advantage this case has made for me is the collection sells. I can price my at the same price as everyone but because of the lower broker fee, mine get bought up first. </p>

Lodrelhai
02-26-2007, 08:25 PM
I like this not so much for selling to people in my own city, but people in the opposite faction.  As a penny-pincher, yeah, I'll go to someone's house 9 times out of 10 to get the item without the broker fee, but if I'm sitting in Qeynos and the item in question is being sold by someone in North Freeport - that's a lot of distance and risk to save some silver.

Chirpaa
02-27-2007, 04:44 AM
<p>For those who think they should have this reward and don't, you can see your account age on your Persona screen (hit "p&quot<img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />, on the details tab.</p><p>Hover your mouse over the part that shows you account age, and it will give you all the details, such as what expansions you are getting credit for and how many days bonus they give, etc.</p><p>Tto get the display case, you need an account age of 1095 days showing on this screen.  </p><p>If you cancelled at some point, and came back, all that missed time still counts.  All that matters is account age, actual amount of time played is irrelevent.</p><p>Hope this clears things up for any confused folks.</p>

Winter
03-01-2007, 02:32 AM
<cite>dogbrush wrote:</cite><blockquote><span style="font-size: medium; color: #ff66ff; font-family: comic sans ms,sand">How in the world did you get it to actually go into your house? Whenever I examine mine, my choices are 'Use' and 'Examine'...</span> <p>From left to right, (Crafted) Cedar Furniture Shelf Veteran 3yr reward 40 slot display case (Crafted) Cedar Salesman's Crate <img src="http://www.dogbrush.co.uk/images/EQ2_000530.jpg" border="0"> </p></blockquote>

Chirpaa
03-01-2007, 04:44 AM
<cite>Winter wrote:</cite><blockquote><blockquote><span style="font-size: medium; color: #ff66ff; font-family: comic sans ms,sand">How in the world did you get it to actually go into your house? Whenever I examine mine, my choices are 'Use' and 'Examine'...</span> </blockquote></blockquote><p> Winter, this was actually answered much higher up in the thread, but sorta got lost amongst all the "what's it look like" and "how do i get one" posts...so I can see how you missed the answer.</p><p>Getting this in your house works the same as every other sales container (such as Salesman's crates, Bag and Box Stands, Armor and Shield racks, etc).   </p><ol><li>Hang your market board on the wall in your house.  If you don't have a market board anymore, go buy one.  There are a few vendors in each starting city that sell these.</li><li>Open the broker window <b>in your house</b> and go to the sell tab.</li><li>Drag the item from your inventory into an <b>empty</b> sell spot in the broker window.  If you have these spots all full with boxes or what not already, you will need to empty one first. If you drag this to a box or salese container you are selling out of, you'll get an error message because it will think you want to sell the display case, and it isn't something you can sell.  </li><li><b>Right click</b> on the veteran display case <b>which is now in the broker window</b>.  If it is still in your inventory, return to step 2.</li><li>Select the option to place it and put it where you want it in your home.</li><li>Pat yourself on the back, you done good!</li></ol><p>Hope this answers your question!</p>