PDA

View Full Version : Adept/Apprentice 4 change retroactive?


Vish
12-17-2004, 12:24 PM
I don't have a Test character, and this question would not be answered by creating a new one so I'm asking here. According to the changes posted for the Test server, Spells/Combat Arts will now have different levels for the respective crafted quality (i.e. a Pristine spell will now be Apprentice 4, Adept 4 for the rare/advanced version).Is this retroactive to all the Pristine Apprentice and expecially Pristine Adept spells I have made? Does it apply to scrolls/runes/essences in my inventory? To the spells I have already scribed?<p>Message Edited by Vishad on <span class=date_text>12-17-2004</span> <span class=time_text>01:25 AM</span>

Agathorn
12-17-2004, 12:27 PM
Not 100% positive, BUT 1) I'm fairly certain it would NOT be retroactive -- Can you imagine the screaming if someones app3 turned into an app2?2) I'm also fairly certain that this was change don test before any of us had any crafted spells.. heck I think this was on test before we even made any charcters.

Kwoung
12-17-2004, 12:28 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Vishad wrote:<BR>I don't have a Test character, and this question would not be answered by creating a new one so I'm asking here. According to the changes posted for the Test server, Spells/Combat Arts will now have different levels for the respective crafted quality (i.e. a Pristine spell will now be Apprentice 4, Adept 4 for the rare/advanced version).<BR><BR>Is this retroactive to all the Pristine Apprentice and expecially Pristine Adept spells I have made? Does it apply to scrolls/runes/essences in my inventory? To the spells I have already scribed? <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR> No idea since this change has been in place since the Test server went live I believe (it just didn't go to test today, been this way for weeks)... so no one here could possibly have any pre-change spells to check to my knowledge.

Vish
12-17-2004, 12:34 PM
Hmmm... OK. Then maybe Moorgard or someone can let us know? At this point I'm holding off on any spell/ability item creation until the patch.

Kwoung
12-17-2004, 12:44 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Vishad wrote:<BR>Hmmm... OK. Then maybe Moorgard or someone can let us know? At this point I'm holding off on any spell/ability item creation until the patch.<BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR> Just buy up pristine inks before the price skyrockets <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Nickma
12-17-2004, 01:39 PM
<DIV>I'd just be a bit ticked off if I wasted my silver on an adept 3 when it coulda been an adept 4.</DIV>

Kwoung
12-17-2004, 01:44 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Nickmare wrote:<BR> <DIV>I'd just be a bit ticked off if I wasted my silver on an adept 3 when it coulda been an adept 4.</DIV><BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE>Why... changes happen in these games constantly, its how they are designed to work... things always change, a better item than you just got always comes along... its just the way it is. Besides, unless they make some tweaks, App 4 spells may turn out to cost considerably more than Adept 1's, it takes a lot of work to make them and App 3 is the norm for pristine components with App 4 being harder to reach... at least that was my experience so far.

Nickma
12-18-2004, 09:14 AM
<DIV>Why would I be [Removed for Content] off? First, it isn't about something better coming along, it's about the fact that if I had known they were changing this a couple of days ago I could have saved my silver. Silver is worth as much gold as I've made in my entire time playing on my server.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Of course I'm [Removed for Content] off. I know changes happen. Accidents happen too, but I'd still be [Removed for Content] off if I got hit by a car. </DIV>

Sumat
12-25-2004, 09:59 PM
<DIV> <DIV><FONT color=#ffffff>I'm concerned about this as well. I have a pristine tier 3 rare ink sitting in my pack waiting to make a Ball of Fire Adept 3, but now I'm not sure if I should wait for the patch. Is there any eta on this update, or any news about retroactively updating spells from pristine inks? If it's retroactive, then I can go ahead and make my Adept 3 which would really help me a lot now, and not worry that I screwed myself out of an even better spell when the patch comes out.</FONT></DIV></DIV>

Evadne
12-26-2004, 01:50 AM
I agree with Kwoung. The changes will come again, and again. What you thought you had, skills, gear, abilities, will change. I personally don't want them wasting a second on retro for this when there are so many other things to take care of. To do so would be precedent setting. The changes in the game are going to happen, some will be better for you, some worse.~Eva

dreamtwist
12-26-2004, 04:51 AM
<DIV>Okay. im not working for EQ2, but i can tell you that spells created before the patch should not, and 99% sure they will not, become App. 4, even if they were created pristine. and if it's been scribed already, well, might as well forget all about getting it updated to app 4! Though it would be nice, I do not believe it possible to be done, so i'd strongly recommend waiting on the patch to make adept III's :smileyvery-happy:</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>best of luck.</DIV><p>Message Edited by dreamtwister on <span class=date_text>12-25-2004</span> <span class=time_text>03:52 PM</span>

Bloodtear
12-26-2004, 05:02 PM
<DIV>Sumatte, it would also depend on how certain you are that you can create a pristine spell.  Right now, provided you don't completely bork your tradeskilling, you will get an Adept III out of your crafting.  After the change you may end up with an Adept II if you get enough hits to your durability.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Also, they didn't make it clear that the adept line would get a IV version.  They mentioned Apps, but I don't recall them mentioning Adepts.</DIV>

Soloras
12-27-2004, 01:51 AM
<DIV>Maybe I'm a little slower than usual today....   So they are adding App IV to tradeskilling when you make spells?  Is an App IV spell/skill supposed to better than Adept I?  From what I've been able to tell the difference between App III and Adept I was nominal when you consider the difference in price and the time and effort that goes into making them.  This is not a difficult concept but I am confused as heck.  And since I still need to upgrade a few of my primary spells I'd like to know which one I should buy.....  Thanks!</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Solaras</DIV>

CerraWhisperwind
12-31-2004, 09:11 PM
<blockquote><hr>Nickmare wrote:<DIV>I'd just be a bit ticked off if I wasted my silver on an adept 3 when it coulda been an adept 4.</div><hr></blockquote>Adept spells have not changed. The only change was to apprentice level spells. All quality levels of adept still produce adept III.

Sorvani
01-02-2005, 12:08 PM
<blockquote><hr>CerraWhisperwind wrote:<blockquote><hr>Nickmare wrote:<DIV>I'd just be a bit ticked off if I wasted my silver on an adept 3 when it coulda been an adept 4.</div><hr></blockquote>Adept spells have not changed. The only change was to apprentice level spells. All quality levels of adept still produce adept III.<hr></blockquote>well that's kinda [expletive ninja'd by Faarbot] IMO. i've got a level 11 scholar on test, but i hadnt' harvested a rare yet to test that.. why would they change one mechanic and not the whole system? sheesh. if this is the case, app4 is a complete waste of programming time that could have been better spent on soemthing else. yeah app4 will be better than app3 by a hair but not enough to make the amount of programming that this requires actually matter. and not enough to change the market price in the long run, because that is set by the materials and the rate of adept1's dropping(supply&demand oversimplified). and neither of those factors are changing.

RedDragon
01-02-2005, 08:20 PM
<DIV>"Adept spells have not changed. The only change was to apprentice level spells. All quality levels of adept still produce adept III."</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Did you test this personally or are you assuming?</DIV>

CerraWhisperwind
01-03-2005, 08:12 PM
I have made 3 adept III spells recently on test.