PDA

View Full Version : Revising Concept of Wards

cloza
12-23-2004, 10:10 AM
<DIV>Been hearing a lot of talk about how shaman Wards are a substandard form of healing, and I'm starting to feel it myself, recently, though, not as bad as most of you report.  From what I gather, here's the problem on wards (I'm only level a 18 shaman, but pleased ont jump on me and my opinions just because im a noob, I'm trying to be constructive here):</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>1) Wards do not mitigate damage or at least, only mitigates  to a very low degree (perhaps wards have their own AC albeit minimal?). This means wards are gone in one or two hits at high levels,  forcing shaman to chain cast them.</DIV> <DIV>2) The concept of wards do not work well with cleric reactive heals, making one, or the other less useful when they are present.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Now, the solution that most people have is to factor in the recepient's AC prior to damage absorbption by the ward.  However, wont this make wards a tad bit overpowered? This makes wards a very high (albeit unhealable) HP buffer.  Also, it doesnt solve problem #2</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Now, maybe wards are they way they are because we can indirectly mitigate damage through slows and debuffs, I'm not high enough to judge if they are truly that effective so I'll leave it to more experienced minds to debate.  However I love healer-type classes, always played them in any MMO I've been on so gathering the info from other threads from higher level shaman, I offer this idea:</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV><STRONG><EM>Revise the concept of wards so that when a warded target is hit, half of the UMITIGATED damage is absorbed by the ward, but the other half is applied to the recepient AFTER mitigation by the recepient's AC.  </EM></STRONG></DIV> <DIV><STRONG><EM></EM></STRONG> </DIV> <DIV>This I think, is a nice compromise.  This means, wards will effectly last twice as long now, because it only receives half the damage it used to receive. Ho