PDA

View Full Version : Using EQ Data


Konol
03-22-2008, 07:06 AM
HiIs it possible to access EQ2 Character data from a web page out side of the game. I would like to create a web page that shows my toons skills, stats and faction pointsThanks

Hellswrath
03-22-2008, 12:10 PM
To my knowledge, only if that information is available via a feed from the site. However, this is truly the domain of the Roster Master people. They would be able to give a more definitive answer than I will.

Lantis
03-22-2008, 02:18 PM
There is no data feed for character data, aside from the limited info available for guild rosters.  You would have to write some form of HTML parser to be able to retrieve the data from your EQ2Players character profile, however this would be tricky: some of that data requires you to be logged on EQ2Players to access it.

Dark_Grue
03-26-2008, 06:39 PM
<p>Yup, as Lantis mentions, most of the data it sounds like you want to use is not part of the roster data feed (CSV, XML, or otherwise). So you'd have to parse the HTML page - which isn't impossible, since that's how Roster Master used to get all its data (RM4DF still gets some data from a HTML parse).</p><p>The downside is that you have to code the authentication handshake. This could be as simple as just passing a cookie after you log-in by hand, or actually automating the sign-in dialog (both very doable, the latter is more desirable because the login cookie lifetime for EQ2Players is fairly inconsistent in my experience - your software would fail until you noticed and regenerated the cookie).</p><p>The bad thing with both is that the cookie or password will have to be stored by your software in cleartext. Anyone who reads the software's configuration (or core dump) will have access to your SoE account password, and therefore to your account. (This is a different threat than that of reading the password as it transits the network - this isn't really a problem, as the sign-in dialog happens over SSL, so the conversation's encrypted in-transit. It's the endpoints where the password's vulnerable.) Putting cleartext passwords in software configurations is sometimes a necessary evil, but it's important to understand the risk before proceeding.</p>