EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Kunark Ascending Beta > General Beta Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2016, 01:34 AM   #31
Katz

Well-Known Member
Katz's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You should be able to put it on a mannequin or actor. It will have a way to do that via the same way you apply the look to yourself.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 10:23 AM   #32
Gnaff

Active Member
Gnaff's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Another suggestion for the Wardrobe feature. Instead of saving each item on its own, why not just add a clicky on the Appearance tab, that once clicked would save everything currently worn in the Appearance tab to a single clicky in the Wardrobe tab. As it is right now it seems needlessly messy and generally unuseful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 03:34 PM   #33
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The "sets" feature on the appearance tab lets you more or less do this, but I get what you mean. Instead of being grouped by slot (18 cloaks, 18 chest pieces, etc.), you would have the wardrobe grouped by set with 11 slots per set. I have to admit this would be much more useful to me since the gear I want to save in the wardrobe is generally full sets collected during the various expansions. But what would you say to those folks who are cloak collectors, or weapon collectors? If they have 50 cloaks to save and not much else, they will need 50 separate sets in the wardrobe that will be otherwise empty.

Thinking about it further, we might be able to convince the developers to add another set-saving sidebar on the wardrobe tab similar to the way we save sets on the main appearance sidebar. This would allow you to store individual pieces as they are now, but equip groups of those stored pieces as named "wardrobe sets" saved and loaded from the wardrobe tab with the [+] and [-] buttons. The best of both worlds.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 03:46 PM   #34
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

One last thought, it would be interesting to consider a simpler way of equipping wardrobe items: Instead of the current flyout menu on the appearance tab, what would be wrong with going to the wardrobe tab and simply clicking one of the cloaks in the cloak category and it immediately equips that cloak in appearance. There could be a big yellow highlight box around whichever wardrobe cloak has been chosen. Click another one to change it immediately. Un-clicking the highlighted one would unequip that appearance slot.

If it was set up this way, it would be a snap to add the "wardrobe sets" feature described above. Just highlight one wardrobe slot in each of the 11 categories and save that combination as a "wardrobe set" right there on the sidebar of the wardrobe tab.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 05:41 PM   #35
desi

New Member
desi's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Enlightened Journey Spaulders : for Fury, Monk, Bruiser, Warden, Channeler not sure how to link the item but I was able to equip it on my Zhugrus Blightstrike merc which is an Inquisitor. It upped the stats on him also. BTW this is not Merc only gear, it is regular toon gear.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 05:49 PM   #36
desi

New Member
desi's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default



I now see this is in wrong post so anyone who can move it plz do Smile
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 09:25 PM   #37
Gnaff

Active Member
Gnaff's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This feature really needs to not be gated behind what level of the expansion you purchase. and certainly not a limited number of slots. Some of us have years and years of being a paying member, and all the appearance quality gear that comes with buying/playing 15+ Expansions/Adventure packs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:19 PM   #38
Pixilicious

Active Member
Pixilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 6
Default



Yes I love this new wardrobe too, except that if a cloak with an effect is in it, it will lose the effect, I have a lot of cloaks from LoN that I love but, will not be able to put into the Wardrobe because it would lose the cool clicky effect Frown
Pixilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 02:19 AM   #39
Pixilicious

Active Member
Pixilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 6
Default



Is this really true we can wear something we couldnt before due to class restriction ? OMG i couldnt try it so far but i will be soooo happy if your right, i cant even beleive it lol Smile
Pixilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 02:28 AM   #40
NrthnStar5

Well-Known Member
NrthnStar5's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are you able to remove items from your wardrobe? For example, all your slots are filled for a given piece (Ex. cloaks) but you'd like to remove one to add a different one? If not, that's a pretty big limitation.

Also, I will agree, the limitation on how much can be stored is a big let down. Many other games do these systems better (WoW, SWOTR, Wildstar, Etc). This game has been around a long time, it'll take no time at all for some of us to fill the wardrobe. And I'll also agree with the idea that putting items in wardrobe should not destroy the item.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:18 AM   #41
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I understand folks don't want to destroy their items when they go into the wardrobe, but this becomes simply more bag space, limited to gear.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:35 AM   #42
Xianthia

Active Member
Xianthia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


I'm ok with it being destroyed. It is still usable from the wardrobe. I'll probably not put some things in there that I like the clicky effect or possibly some other reason.

Most of the things I have in storage right now are things I got from raids, quests and years of playing. They are just taking up room in my bank. Will probably make it easier to actually see my items rather than having them in long forgotten boxes in the vault or bank.

As to the amount of slots, I'm assuming we'll get some sort of marketplace option to expand it by slots. X number of slots for xyz amount.

It's a choice I'll have to make, what is going in wardrobe and what won't be. I've been bursting at the seams, juggling items back and forth, putting things on alts' banks. It's been manageable but boy is it tedious, now will be nice to go to the tab and wear the things without having to search out which alt or which bank/vault it's in. I'm liking the feature so far.
Xianthia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 05:27 AM   #43
Gnaff

Active Member
Gnaff's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually the way i am thinking. Simply saving what is currently equiped in the Appearance tab as a set with the option of switching pieces out later, would give greater function to everyone. even those who only collect as you said, Cloaks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 10:02 AM   #44
Observing

New Member
Observing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

How will wardrobe weapons and appearance essences (lesser essence of acid for example) interact?
Observing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 01:44 PM   #45
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Surprisingly it did not keep the visual effect from the essence when equipped from wardrobe. I tested using a twark two-hand crushing and the essence you suggested -- lesser acid. I have a feeling this can be fixed, hope so anyway.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 02:27 PM   #46
Shadowmists

New Member
Shadowmists's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In the "Sets" tab for the "+" and "-" are just above the "Save" button. Recommend you place more space between the buttons or add a confirm save pop up. I really hate confirm saves btw...so hope you can do something with spacing or placement. The reason is that if you are putting a new outfit together, and you go to create the new set, but your mouse has tracked a bit lower than you realized (or there is some other issue with mouse size/movement), you can accidentally save your new outfit over the top of the last one you had in the pane. So, you end up saving the new outfit over top of something when you really wanted to add a new set.

My thoughts....thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 06:23 PM   #47
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Well. Clearly the correct answer is for the dev team to sort this thing out! Maybe in an expansion or two they can release a REAL wardrobe befitting our outstanding player base. #wardrobe2018

/s
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 06:51 PM   #48
Quillyne

Member
Quillyne's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

About the only use I will find for the feature is for craftable seasonal items (I'm looking at you, Frostfell stuff). I don't like the idea of destroying things that I can't replace.

Even if I could swap all of the unneeded bracer slots for cloak, chest, boot, glove, hat or weapon slots, the size of the wardrobe is way too small to make a meaningful dent on my boxes and boxes of appearance items...which makes the feature somewhat trivial. Additionally, the inability to use wardrobe items on mannequins and actors, and the loss of item effects further reduce the usefulness of the feature.

Cool idea...and I appreciate the effort that went into this, but one more bag slot would be more useful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 07:52 AM   #49
Griffon Lady

Well-Known Member
Griffon Lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 18
Default

Agreed. Bracers rarely have much of an appearance, and they usualy get covered up any way. Would it be possible to move some slots around? Like take them out of "bracers" and put them into cloaks or multiple sections?
Alternatively, could there be slot sets available on the Marketplace? XD The wardrobe as is is wonderful, but erm.. I kinda have been saving cool looking gear for 12 years now... IT was overflowing into my broker crates, the house vault, the guild bank... >.> Let's just say I'd be happy to buy more space at reasonable prices.
Griffon Lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 05:55 PM   #50
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I see the wardrobe as an extension of the appearance sets feature. As it is now, in order to equip an appearance set from the appearance tab you must have all those gear pieces in your inventory -- an obvious downside. Wardrobe allows you to equip appearance sets without that impediment. Bag space is freed up for us, and possibly the server storage requirements for Daybreak are reduced for items converted into the wardrobe.

And to Quillyne, the wardrobe is supposedly directly usable by the mannequins and house actors. I don't have either so I can't verify, but the devs definitely said this was part of the feature.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 06:05 PM   #51
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default


If you look inside the character window there is something in the wardrobe area that says "Purchase Slots" and "Unlock Slots." We can't be sure whether or not this will max out at 18 slots per category. It's possible that everyone will be able to buy more slots beyond 18. We'll have to wait and see, but I can tell you there is definitely a mechanism for purchasing more slots in there.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 11:29 PM   #52
Anyaah

New Member
Anyaah's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When I envisioned the "wardrobe" years ago, I envisioned an actual storage unit (similar to the depots) in my house that I could put armor into and relieve my overcrowding bank. It would also release any class restrictions by stripping things to appearance only. Thus my cloth/leather wearer or whatever could wear plate for appearance and it would move the items out of my way overcrowded bank. The already existing appearance set functionality would then "pull" the items from either the wardrobe or the bank depending on where I had them.

As this stands, I won't be using it because I do not want to totally destroy an item.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 06:40 AM   #53
Lojaak

Well-Known Member
Lojaak's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I just looked at this today, and I am really unhappy about the destruction part. I am certainly not going to put my myth weapons in the wardrobe once it goes live, and I'd have to think really, really hard about the clothing too. This feature isn't going to be useful to me in its current incarnation. The way RIFT handles wardrobe is so, so much better. You loot an item with an appearance you don't have, you 'learn' that appearance account wide, and you can choose to sell the item or destroy it afterwards. People would make old content raids just for appearance items and pass stuff around the whole raid to unlock it. I paid for plenty of extra set slots on RIFT so I could just keep changing out my wardrobe depending on what spec I was in (it was a great visual cue for me so I didn't start tanking in healspec and I had switch macros for the spec and wardrobe together)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2016, 03:53 PM   #54
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I guess technically it could be designed so you can right-click an item in the wardrobe and "restore" it to an actual item again. Just thinking about what would be involved in this, you would probably have to un-reforge the item (otherwise the wardrobe could be used as a remote un-reforger) and the resulting item would have to be no-trade, no-value, not unattunable, not transmutable, etc. I know this will raise player eyebrows, but I think you should be able to restore wardrobe items in this way -- for Daybreak cash. This is basically like getting back an item you destroyed, and we already have a mechanism for dealing with that. So if you want the item back in its "real" form you can shell out maybe 50 or 100 Daybreak coins for it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 04:04 PM   #55
NrthnStar5

Well-Known Member
NrthnStar5's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm sorry if this was asked, but does wardrobe include weapon slots? And if so, can you use the same weapon appearance for both weapon slots? For example, if I put a dagger in my wardrobe, can I place the appearance of that dagger in both weapon slots? (without actually required two of the same item in my wardrobe). If so, that would be pretty awesome if we no longer need to have two of the same weapon to use the appearance of it in both weapon slots.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 06:54 PM   #56
Grumpy_Warrior

New Member
Grumpy_Warrior's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes the weapon slots are there, but you have to choose primary or secondary when you put a weapon in. After it's in primary you can right-click and swich to secondary, but that removes it from primary in the appearance tab so you can't do what you're talking about with only one instance of the weapon.

There should be a wardrobe tab on your character window so you can play around with the features. If it's not there then something's goofed up with your UI.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 08:32 PM   #57
Griffon Lady

Well-Known Member
Griffon Lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 18
Default

I just tried to use wardrobe items to dress a mannequin and a house actor and the items do not drag and drop. Is there something I need to do to enable that? Kander said the wardrobe was compatible with mannequins and house actors, but not how. :

Oh! Nm! I just clicked on the blank spots and my wardrobe set pops up all the icons. Whew!
Griffon Lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 11:44 AM   #58
Sambril

Well-Known Member
Sambril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Tranquil Threadbare Shawl - This item can not be added to your Wardrobe

Is this because it has no appearance? It does work in the Appearance tab.
Sambril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 01:55 AM   #59
Griffon Lady

Well-Known Member
Griffon Lady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 18
Default

Would make sense that items with clickies or bauble-use like features would be un-consumable. I remember having to beg a GM to un-transmute a head piece that allowed blue shinies to be seen. >.> Saves them time, not having to deal with peeps who accidentally destroyed/consumed the clicky item item like I did. XD (And that time saved goes into new stuff, right?)
Griffon Lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 05:24 PM   #60
Bunji

Developer
Bunji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

If an item does not have an appearance and is not flagged appearance-only, it cannot be added. So items like Imperceptible Beauty can be added.
Bunji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.